Literally, the most misused word – The Boston Globe

Posted on

Literally, the most misused word – The Boston Globe.

Hah! A news article about Parks and Recreation!

Also, about incorrect word usage eclipsing proper word definitions…. a pet peeve of mine as well.  Though I am going to claim ‘guilty’ to misuse of Literally …..

Other misued words that bug me:

your vs. you’re

there vs. their

its vs. it’s (i am way more guilty of this one than I’d like to admit though; I have to stop and think every time I use one of these words. it can still bug me though, in both myself and others!)

*

This is an incomplete list.  Many things bug me, these are the only ones that come to mind now, though …

One thought on “Literally, the most misused word – The Boston Globe

    Hannah C. said:
    August 2, 2011 at 17:41

    Hmm..I don’t know. The article you posted talks about word meanings getting mixed up, while the examples you gave are spelling issues. No one is arguing that “their” should become the word that means “there.” It’s an issue that only happens in writing!

    I’m afraid that I misuse “literally” as well. Also, “enormity” doesn’t mean “enormous,” it means more along the lines of “horrendous.” I didn’t actually know that until I read an article about it. Just another example of a word where the meaning changes.

Thoughts?

